Whimsically Classic Receives TCMFF Media Credentials!

I am excited to announce that my blog, Whimsically Classic, devoted to all things classic film and classic television, has been selected to receive media credentials at this year’s TCM Classic Film Festival (TCMFF). Despite the amazing time my husband and I had last year, we just couldn’t figure out how we would swing it this year. Though last year, we did go all out for our first experience with the Spotlight passes and staying at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel which was on my bucket list. However, I decided to apply for media credentials last minute, on a lark. I didn’t think I would be approved. But I wanted to apply, if only to present a sample of my writing to TCM. I sent a link to the article I wrote last year about my first experience at the TCMFF. I turned in the application at the last minute on the 14th, only two days before the 16th deadline.

You can imagine my excitement when I saw the email from TCM stating that I had been APPROVED for media credentials. I could not believe it. Really?! My little blog?! Suddenly, I went into trip planning mode. Could we afford this? My pass was covered, but my husband wanted to go too. He needs a Classic Pass, which is comparable to my Media Pass. Where would we stay? Surely all the good (moderately priced) hotels were gone by now! How would we get there from PDX? Ooh our Alaska Airlines account has a free companion pass! We don’t need a car, surely we can get transportation to and from LAX. Somehow it all came together. I got the last King room at a decent looking hotel with a reasonable (for Hollywood) rate, only 2 blocks from the Roosevelt. With some rampant saving next month (including paying taxes, yuck!), I think we can swing it. We won’t be tacking a quick trip to Disneyland on this trip…even though it’s RIGHT there, but we for sure can’t swing that. I just cannot in good conscience turn down a free pass to the TCMFF, valued at ~$900!

With that said, I am now EXCITED for the films that have been announced thus far. Previously, I was indifferent, because I probably wasn’t going. Now that I am going, I am excited. Of course the films I’m excited about and the films I actually go see are all dependent upon the final schedule, the guests, and the location. I am super excited to be going now that the Egyptian has been announced. I was hoping to go there last year, but it wasn’t open during the festival. I really want to experience a nitrate film. I hope they announce more besides Annie Get Your Gun. That film is not a favorite of mine. These are the films I’m excited about:

  • Almost Famous (2000). I saw this in the theater in high school when it came out! This is a great movie.
  • The Big Heat (1953). This is an amazing film noir. I can only imagine seeing Jocelyn Brando’s “explosive” scene and the coffee scene between Gloria Grahame and Lee Marvin on the big screen.
  • Chinatown (1974). I feel like seeing one of the quintessential LA films in LA would be appropriate. It’d be amazing if TCMFF could get Faye Dunaway or Jack Nicholson to appear in person.
  • It Happened One Night (1934). I love this movie, it’s so much fun. Though I’ve seen it in the theater before, so this will depend on what it’s scheduled against.
  • The Mad Miss Manton (1938). This is such a fun film starring Barbara Stanwyck and Henry Fonda. This film always seems to be on in the background while I’m doing something else. I’d love to actually sit and just watch this film.
  • North by Northwest (1959). This is a great film and seeing it restored would be wonderful. However, I have seen this in the theater before, so it’s something I could miss if something more exciting comes along.
  • On the Waterfront (1954). This is an amazing film. It’s insane that I enjoy it so much since I typically do not enjoy Marlon Brando, Lee J. Cobb, or Rod Steiger and they’re all in the same film! However, this film is fantastic. I’ve also seen it in the theater before, so it’s something I could miss.
  • Rear Window (1954). My favorite Hitchcock. It’s perfection from beginning to end. I even love all the neighbors in the apartments. But I’ve seen this movie at least three times in the theater. I saw it last year in the theater! This is another one that I might be able to miss depending on what else is scheduled.
  • Sabrina (1954). I do love this movie. Despite the fact that Bogart is clearly too old for the role, but I love it anyway.
  • Sherlock Jr. (1924) & The Goat (1921). The Buster Keaton double feature with live organ accompaniment is a no brainer. I’ve even seen Sherlock Jr. before with live organ accompaniment, but I’ll gladly watch it again.
  • White Heat (1949). I love this movie. I would love to see this film with its iconic ending on the big screen.

Now I no longer have to boo the TV when the TCMFF commercial comes on TCM. I was booing it because I probably wasn’t going. But now I am! I will also look forward to the programming announcements instead of being indifferent.

4 thoughts on “Whimsically Classic Receives TCMFF Media Credentials!

      1. Thank you! Reading over my post now, I used the word “excited” too many times. Lol. I should have gotten out the old thesaurus to choose some other synonyms. I wrote this article while still in a euphoric state after getting the official email.

        Like

Leave a comment